Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Lions Gate Splits Mockingjay Into Two Films, The Hunger Games Trilogy Becomes Four Blockbuster Movies

Hunger Games - Katniss Aiming
Hunger Games -...

Buy This at

Lions Gate Entertainment made the smart decision to split up the third Hunger Games book into two movies. Mockingjay will be released as two movies in 2014 and 2015. The release dates for all of The Hunger Games movies have now been made official. Official release dates are:

  • Catching Fire: November 22, 2013
  • Mockingjay Part 1: November 21, 2014
  • Mockingjay Part 2: November 20, 2015
This decision...

now extends the Hunger Games movies into one release every year from 2012-2015. It also gives Lions Gate a chance to make the book series more well known internationally. The first Hunger Games movie had a higher box office revenue than any Harry Potter or Twilight movie in North America. The Hunger Games box office overseas was relatively strong for a first movie in a trilogy, but could definitely help Lions Gate stock with a huge Catching Fire release.

Apart from The Hunger Games, Lions Gate also has Ender's Game. Ender's Game is being made into a movie and will likely turn into a series as there are many books in the famous sci-fi series. Read my latest reveiw of Lions Gate Entertainment stock here.

*Disclosure-I own shares of LGF*

No comments:

Post a Comment